Read Across America comes to NCM

“You’re never too old, too wacky, too wild, to pick up a book and read to a child.”
– Dr. Seuss

On March 3, 2014, 45 million students, parents, and educators came together in the spirit of Read Across America, the National Education Association’s annual initiative that’s dedicated to fostering a love of reading. Here at NCM, we’re celebrating the joy of books and storytelling all month long, and we invite you and your family to join us!

Every Saturday and Sunday in March, the entire Museum (and all of our guests!) will “Drop Everything and Read” at noon and read the following special oath:

I promise to read
Each day and each night.
I know it’s the key
To growing up right.

I’ll read to myself,
I’ll read to a crowd.
It makes no difference
If silent or loud.

I’ll read at my desk
At home and at school,
On my bean bag or bed,
By the fire or pool.

Each book that I read
Puts smarts in my head,
‘Cause brains grow more thoughts
The more they are fed.

So I take this oath
To make reading my way
Of feeding my brain
What it needs every day.

We also hope you’ll visit the Museum for two very special guest storytellers in the NCM Theatre. On Sunday, March 16, at 1 p.m., we’re hosting Zachary Tamer for a reading of his popular children’s book, “The Story of the Snugglefink,” and on Saturday, March 29 at 12 noon, we’re hosting Lola Lombard as she reads her book, “Zoopossible! Animal Kingdom.”

For more information on Read Across America, visit www.nea.org. Make the most of this month’s very important programming at NCM!

Leave a Reply

